Oct 14, 2015

Indiana Authors Award wrap-up


Winners are...

Four authors with Indiana ties have been honored as winners of the 2015 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award. Winners were recognized at the Indiana Authors Award Dinner on October 10 at Central Library.
Widely-acclaimed poet and Purdue University Professor of English Marianne Boruch was recognized as the National Author Award Winner. Fellow poet and Pike High School graduate Adrian Matejka was recognized as the Regional Author Award Winner. Short story novelist and Indiana University graduate Clifford Garstang was named Emerging Author Winner. A Lifetime Achievement Honor, only the second ever given to an author who has exemplified great achievement over several decades, was presented to Indianapolis’ Mari Evans, a monumental figure in poetry and education who helped shape women’s history, politics and drama.

Each Indiana Authors Award winner receives a cash prize and can select an Indiana public library to receive a $2,500 grant from The Indianapolis Public Library. Since the Award’s inception in 2009, winning authors have received a total of $157,500, and their designated libraries have received $57,500 in grants.
“The Glick Fund is proud to celebrate these talented authors,” said Marianne Glick, Director at the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Family Foundation. “We hope that the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award serves as an inspiration and encouragement for the next generation of Indiana writers.”
Indiana Authors Award nominations were submitted in the spring of 2015, and an eight-member statewide award panel selected the winners. Any published writer born in Indiana or who has lived in Indiana for at least five years was eligible.
Nominations for the 2016 Indiana Authors Award will open on February 1, 2016. To learn more, contact the Library Foundation at (317) 275-4700 or visit Indianaauthorsaward.org.

No comments:

Post a Comment