Jul 31, 2015

Marc Hudson in Santa Fe, N.M.

News from New Mexico:

Teatro Paraguas has become a popular venue for poetry readings in Santa Fe. On the average two poetry readings happen each month, as well as the open-mic poetry event hosted by Santa Fe Poetry Trails the first Monday of every month. New Mexico Literary Arts, a non-profit arts organization, recently awarded Teatro Paraguas the 2015 New Mexico Literary Arts Gratitude Award.

In August. Teatro Paraguas is proud to host two readings, featuring poets from Oklahoma and Indiana.

On Sunday, August 23, Oklahoma poet Ken Hada will be joined by two Santa Fe poets, Gary Worth Moody and Argos MacCallum.

Ken Hada's recent poem "Homecoming" was a finalist for the 2015 Spur Award. He is the author of Margaritas and Redfish (Lamar UP, 2013), The River White: A Confluence of Brush and Quill (Mongrel Empire, 2011), with artwork by Duane Hada, Spare Parts (Mongrel Empire, 2009)' Winner of the 2010 National Western Heritage Award, The Way of the Wind (Village Books Press 2008) and two ebooks: Contour Feathers and The Way of the Wind. A professor at East Central University in Ada, Oklahoma, Ken directs the annual Ada Scissortail Creative Writing Festival.

New Mexico poet Gary Worth Moody is a falconer (between hawks) who lives in Santa Fe with the artist and writer Oriana Rodman, two dogs, and hopefully this autumn, a passage ferruginous or red-tail hawk. Gary has worked as a forest-fire fighter, cowboy, farrier, horse trainer, and various jobs in the construction industry, which included a year in Siberia in 1993 building a town for coal-miners. He is the founder of the 1980s Lost River Poetry Workshops.
Marc Hudson

On Sunday, August 30 at 5:00 pm, Indiana poet Marc Hudson will read from his latest works. Marc Hudson taught for many years at Wabash College in Crawfordsville, Indiana, where he resides. He has published a translation of Beowulf as well as three books of poetry: Afterlight, Journal for an Injured Son, and The Disappearing Poet Blues. His book length manuscript, Swimming the Acheron, was a finalist for the 2014 National Poetry Series. His awards include an NEA Fellowship in Poetry, the Juniper Prize, the Strousse Award, and the Allen Tate Prize. His poems have appeared in Poetry, The Sewanee Review, Poetry Northwest, Poet Lore and many other journals.

No comments:

Post a Comment